Safety is critically important to the short line and regional railroad industry and we wish to congratulate our “Jake” and “Jake with Distinction” Safety Awards winners!  In an effort to recognize and bring greater visibility to our safest railroads, ASLRRA’s "Jake" Safety Awards are now being presented regionally at the fall meetings.

Jake Awards

In 2017, 308 ASLRRA member railroads received a Jake Award recognizing safety performance above the industry average during 2016.  To be honored with a Jake Award an ASLRRA member railroad must  perform better than the Class II and III industry average injury frequency rate as reported by the Federal Railroad Administration (FRA) during the prior year.  Of the 308 Jake Award recipients, 272 railroads received the "Jake with Distinction" designation recognizing their FRA-reported injury-free performance in 2016.

CONGRATULATIONS to our 2016 Jake Award Winners!

To see the winners from each region, please click the links below:
Eastern Region
Southern Region
Central Region
Pacific Region

Thank you to our Safety Program Sponsors!

Titanium Sponsors


Steel Sponsors

Iron Sponsors