

50 F Street, NW Suite 500 Washington, DC 20001 aslrra@aslrra.org www.aslrra.org

Contact: Amy Krouse akrouse@aslrra.org (Cell) 312-371-6947

> ASLRRA Announces Record Number of Jake Safety Award Winners Jake Awards Honor Safety Achievements in the Short Line Industry

WASHINGTON – May 29, 2024 – The American Short Line and Regional Railroad Association (ASLRRA) today announced a record number of member railroads (385) qualifying for a <u>Jake</u> <u>Safety Award</u>. Eighty-eight percent (340) of the awardees are noted "with <u>Distinction</u>" for zero reportable injuries in 2023. Nineteen member railroads will be further recognized by ASLRRA as <u>President's Safety Award winners</u> for the lowest injury frequency rate in a variety of per personhour categories.

" 'Safety First' is the oft-repeated refrain on our nation's railroads, and it rings true for short lines. Nothing is as important as bringing home every employee safely every day," said Chuck Baker, President of ASLRRA. "Our Jake Safety Award program is one way we honor and recognize short line railroads that achieve exemplary safety records. Based on FRA-reported performance in 2023, a record 385 of our member short lines have achieved better than industry average injury frequency rate per 200,000 person-hours worked, and 340 of those short lines reported a perfect zero reportable injuries. These numbers are impressive measurements of the industry's safety improvement, reflecting short lines that live the 'Safety First' value each day and the industry's commitment to investing in infrastructure to improve safety." To be honored with a Jake Award, an ASLRRA member must perform better than the industry average reportable injury frequency rate for railroads other than Class Is, commuter railroads and Amtrak as evidenced by Railroad Injury and Illness Summary Forms submitted to the Federal Railroad Administration (FRA) for each of the twelve months of 2023.

The following ASLRRA members are <u>President's Award Winners</u>, designated as a Jake Award recipient that posts the lowest reportable injury frequency rate per Federal Railroad Administration regulations as measured within the various person-hour categories. The President's Awards will be presented at the 2024 ASLRRA Regional Meetings held this fall: in Jacksonville, Florida, September 30 - October 2 for the Eastern and Southern regions and in Dallas, Texas, October 28 - 30 for the Central and Pacific regions.

Central Region Winners

Indiana Harbor Belt Railroad Co.	Lowest Frequency Rate: more than 500,000 person-hours
Wisconsin & Southern Railroad Co.	Lowest Frequency Rate: 250,000 – 500,000 person-hours
PSC Group	Lowest Frequency Rate: 150,000 – 250,000 person-hours
Kiamichi Railroad Co.	Lowest Frequency Rate: 50,000 – 150,000 person-hours
Western Rail Road Company	Lowest Frequency Rate: less than 50,000 person-hours

Eastern Region Winners

Consolidated Rail Corporation	Lowest Frequency Rate: more than 500,000 person-hours
Union Railroad Company, LLC	Lowest Frequency Rate: 250,000 – 500,000 person-hours
New York, Susquehanna & Western Rwy.	Lowest Frequency Rate: 150,000 – 250,000 person-hours
Allegheny Valley Railroad Company	Lowest Frequency Rate: 50,000 – 150,000 person-hours
Livonia, Avon & Lakeville Railroad Corp.	Lowest Frequency Rate: less than 50,000 person-hours

Pacific Region Winners

Pacific Harbor Line, Inc.	Lowest Frequency Rate: 250,000 – 500,000 person-hours
Terminal Switching Services	Lowest Frequency Rate: 150,000 – 250,000 person-hours

Clarkdale Arizona Central Railroad, LCLowest Frequency Rate: 50,000 – 150,000 person-hoursTexas & New Mexico RailwayLowest Frequency Rate: less than 50,000 person-hours

Southern Region Winners

Conrad Yelvington Distributors	Lowest Frequency Rate: more than 500,000 person-hours
Paducah & Louisville Railway	Lowest Frequency Rate: 250,000 – 500,000 person-hours
R.J. Corman Railroad Co./Memphis Line	Lowest Frequency Rate: 150,000 – 250,000 person-hours
Railserve Inc Switching	Lowest Frequency Rate: 50,000 – 150,000 person-hours
Georgia Southwestern Railroad	Lowest Frequency Rate: Less than 50,000 person-hours

Award Background

The Jake Awards are named for the late Lowell S. "Jake" Jacobson, the President and General Manager of the Copper Basin Railway. After achieving a perfect safety record for the CBRY in 1993, Jake realized that there was no award that recognized smaller railroads' safety records. In 1999, the ASLRRA Safety Committee adopted the Jake Awards, and since then, has continued Mr. Jacobson's legacy of rewarding and drawing attention to the high safety standards of the small railroad industry. For more information on Jake's legacy, click <u>here</u>.

Since its inception in 1995, the Jake Award program has distributed nearly 7,400 Jake and Jake with Distinction Awards to America's small railroad community.

About ASLRRA - The American Short Line and Regional Railroad Association (ASLRRA) is a non-profit trade association representing the interests of the nation's 603 short line and regional railroads and railroad supply company members in legislative and regulatory matters. Short lines operate 50,000 miles of track in 49 states, or approximately one third of the national railroad network, touching in origination or termination one out of every five cars moving on the national railroad system, serving customers who otherwise would be cut off from the national railroad network.