

## WASHINGTON, DC 20510

May 10, 2024

The Honorable Brian Schatz
Chairman
Subcommittee on Transportation, Housing
Urban Development, and Related
Agencies
Committee on Appropriations
United States Senate
Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Cindy Hyde-Smith Ranking Member Subcommittee on Transportation, Housing Urban Development, and Related Agencies Committee on Appropriations United States Senate Washington, DC 20510

Dear Chairman Schatz and Ranking Member Hyde-Smith:

We write today to request that the subcommittee provide robust funding for the Consolidated Rail Infrastructure and Safety Improvements (CRISI) program in the FY25 Transportation, Housing and Urban Development, and Related Agencies Appropriations bill.

Congress created CRISI in 2015 as a comprehensive program which could fund projects ranging from rail research at universities and training programs for workers to safety and other capital improvement work along passenger rail lines and short line freight railroads. This flexibility has been key in allowing a variety of crucial projects to move forward which have enhanced the overall safety and efficiency of our Nation's rail systems.

In particular, CRISI has been a valuable resource for the first-mile and last-mile movement of freight, which plays a critical role in supporting our economy. Given the issues we have seen in recent years with global supply chains, it is important to invest in programs like CRISI, which mitigate congestion, remove bottlenecks, and increase efficiency, especially for key sectors like agriculture and manufacturing.

Since 2017, CRISI has invested \$2.9 billion in projects across 48 states and the District of Columbia. This track record of success led to a substantial increase in CRISI's funding levels in the Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act (IIJA); the bipartisan infrastructure law provided \$1 billion per year in advance appropriations for CRISI, as well as an additional \$1 billion per year in authorizations.

The FY25 President's Budget Request included a \$250 million request for CRISI. Using this number as a baseline, we urge you to recognize the program's potential and provide robust

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> The 48 states that have benefited from one of 278 CRISI awards include Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin and Wyoming.

funding for CRISI in FY25. A well-funded CRISI program will ensure that more worthy projects are funded and promote a safer and more efficient rail system for shippers, consumers, workers, and passengers alike.

We appreciate your leadership in prioritizing funding for our Nation's transportation and infrastructure programs and look forward to continuing that work in this year's appropriations process.

Sincerely,

United States Senator

Kevin Cramer

United States Senator

United States Senator

**United States Senator** 

Richard Blumenthal

United States Senator

United States Senator

United States Senator

CUBW-

United States Senator

Tammy Baldwin
United States Senator

Richard J. Durbin United States Senator

Dan Sullivan
United States Senator

Alex Padilla United States Senator

Ron Wyden
United States Senator

Peter Welch

**United States Senator** 

Michael F. Bennet United States Senator

Sherrod Brown United States Senator

Elizabeth Warren United States Senator

Benjamin L. Cardin United States Senator Jon Tester United States Senator

James E. Risch United States Senator

Mike Crapo United States Senator

Christopher A. Coons United States Senator

Amy Klobuchar United States Senator Bernard Sanders United States Senator

Edward J. Markey United States Senator

Jon Ossoff United States Senator

Sheldon Whitehouse United States Senator

Roger Marshall, M.D. United States Senator Cory A. Booker United States Senator

Kyrsten Sinema
United States Senator

Martin Heinrich United States Senator